And I mean that most sincerely folks

When discussing the concept of sincerity, one man stands colossus over all others. Bob Monkhouse.

Remember his famous touchstone motto? The secret of success is sincerity.

Don’t be fooled by that oleaginous mien. No man can ignite such true* empathy so quickly.

I witnessed him in action at the recording of a TV game show. (Not the classic Golden Shot, something dull and brown.) That cured me of any illusion about the romance of television. He also seemed to epitomise that saccharin impatience that passed for feeling on the telly back then. I couldn’t stand him.

Ach! Just realised. I left out part of his famous motto. Here’s the full version: The secret of success in show business is sincerity. Once you can fake that, you’ve got it made.

And yet… Maybe it was just time. Or the different perspective that years can give you. I began to appreicate his longevity, his work rate, the effort he failed to conceal behind the teeth baring.

Someone stole his jokebook. He was bereft. Not necessarily a stunt in those days. I felt sympathy not satisfaction or derision.

And he did have some cracking gags.

  • “They laughed when I said I was going to be a comedian. Well, they’re not laughing now.”
  • “I want to die peacefully in my sleep, like my father. Not screaming and terrified like his passengers.”
  • “I see that the Guardian has said that I am a cult.” (on Have I Got News For You) (The Guardian newspaper being infamous for its spelling errors.)

And some others may raise, c’mon, a tiny smile?

  • ‘A thief trying to rob a supermarket, was driven off by a shop assistant with a labelling gun. The police are looking for a man with a price on his head.’
  • (on stage as a veteran comic)”You’ll be glad to hear, I can still enjoy sex at 74. I live at number 76 – it’s no distance.”
  • “With my wife it was sex, sex, sex… Yes, three times in 35 years.”

He also has the distinction of making what could be the ultimate comeback from for Prostate Cancer Research.

And now – I humbly beseech you with all of my heart, scroll down the right-hand column to where it says Loose Bloggers Consortium. There you can click on the links and discover untold delights, wits, insight and revelation on the subject oof sincerity.

Too much, huh? My sincerity still needs a little polish. Well, click on Maxi anyway. ‘Cos she’s new.

* True in a theatrical sense.

25 Comments

Filed under D - Loose Bloggers Consortium

25 responses to “And I mean that most sincerely folks

  1. I met him many years ago, when he was trying to find my boss to rent a house from him (long story)! He was cuttingly rude and ridiculous, mostly without cause- and showed off unmercifully when I apologised that my boss hadn’t said when he would be returning! Yes, he did have some good lines, but that day he was a disappointingly silly little man.

  2. And even I’m aware of him over on this side of the pond (and this from someone who hasn’t owned a television in over 32 years)…

    • blackwatertown

      And the atory behind your lack of television can now be revealed.
      There you were, innocently watching TV, when Bob Monkhouse came on. 60 seconds later the TV went through the window and you swore never to let Bob back into your home.
      Is that strike two?

  3. Yes, the person behind the public front.

    In the late eighties I attended a small corporate function during which Bob Monkhouse was one of the ‘acts’. He was funny in that slightly oily way of his. Let’s just say I wouldn’t like him to touch me. The next morning my husband (who had organised the event) and I found ourselves in the same lift as Bob Monkhouse on our way down to breakfast. Just the three of us, in a confined space. I have no idea what was eating him: Maybe he was just overhung. Maybe he isn’t a morning person. Maybe he was annoyed that I didn’t ask him for his autograph. Who knows.

    The really funny thing (to me) about Monkhouse that his facial features reminded me of my then, and now dead, father-in-law. I never mentioned it to FIL. He might not have liked it.

    U

  4. I just adored Bob Monkhouse from the bottom of my heart. And I mean that most sincerely.

  5. Living in America, I have not heard of Bob Monkhouse. From your account, Paul, I sense he was a hard working man with a passion to please his audience.
    Blessings – Maxi

  6. Nigel

    It is only today that I have discovered that “And I mean that most sincerely folks” should not be attributed to Hughie Green. Life is very exciting here at Reactionary Towers.

  7. 29

    Surely it was Hughie Green, he meant it earlier and even more sincerely than Bob. He had his sincere face on Open The Box.

    • blackwatertown

      I think you’re right. Hughie Green was apparently even more sincere and a lot less pleasant than Bob.

  8. Not familiar with Bob’s work, but wow what a clever ad. Thanks for sharing Paul and I hope you have a nice weekend.

  9. seanpatrickreardon

    Thanks for the laughs. They have been hard to come by lately. Hope all is well, Paul!

  10. rummuser

    The Person and the Persona. This is a recurring theme in many character portrayals and one of the best that I ever came across was Mera Naam Joker. You may like to investigate that film further. Raj Kapoor was at his career’s best in that film which unfortunately was a commercial flop.

  11. Good message in that video.

Leave a Reply

