Change (Never doubt…)

The best statement on change I’ve seen was on Santa Monica beach in California.

No. It wasn’t this…

Even Marilyn Monroe did the beach towel dance getting changed on the beach.

It was this…

Arlington West, Santa Monica beach, California

A respectful mock cemetery for US service personnel killed (when I visited) in Iraq. It’s run by Veterans for Peace. They were selling T-shirts with a photo of the scene on the front, and this quotation on the back.

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.

It’s from US cultural anthropologist Margaret Mead (who I’ve mentioned before in connection with the London riots). Good advice, though tiring to live up to. Sometimes you just want to have a pint or watch The Bridge on TV.

(And now – plus ca change, plus c’est la meme chose – you can visit the other members of the Loose Bloggers Consortium for their views on change. Just scroll down the right hand column.)

19 Comments

Filed under D - Loose Bloggers Consortium

19 responses to “Change (Never doubt…)

  1. I am so enraged by this Afg mess. It’s all about opium.

  2. I like the idea of the mock cemetery. It brings home to you just how many Americans were killed unnecessarily in that crazy war. Let alone the many thousands of Iraqis.

    The Bridge is brilliant. Saga, the central character, is riveting because of her very curious behaviour. Is she autistic or what?

    • blackwatertown

      I’m impatiently looking forward to the next episode.
      Saga is definitely on the spectrum – Aspergers I’d say – rather than autism. (Based on my admittedly limited experience.)

  3. When I look at this photo I will never forget what I witnessed on 9/11. I froze as the second plane headed into the tower; I knew America was under attack.

    Tears filled my eyes as I watched innocent people hold hands and jump from the Twin Towers. There is no way to describe the pain I felt for them.

    When I see a soldier today, I thank him/her for their service to our country.

    Blessings – Maxi

  4. My husband retired from the Navy after serving 20 years. My hat is off to all military personnel.

  5. Why build a mock graveyard every sunday and then take it down again? Would it not be a better deed to adopt a family, who has lost a father or mother to the curse of war, for the day. Make them lunch and let them be part of a family.

  6. rummuser

    Pathetic!

  7. One of the most important and tricky areas of civilization. Feelings run hot on both sides. Perhaps the best we can do is keep working at it, keep talking, keep trying. Keep seeing ourselves in the “other” side.

    • blackwatertown

      Reminds me of serving as a jury foreman. First the evidence goes one way. Next it goes the other. Though some of the jury have made up their minds on class grounds before hearing any of it.

  8. Very true and as you say, hard to do… Haven’t actually seen The Bridge but everyone’s raving about it! And loving The Obituarist by the way…have it on my iPad so dipping in and out of it- very well done!

  9. 29

    Interesting mock cemetery, however I have seen it ‘set in stone’ as it were in Seattle where the Vietnam war memorial has left lots of space for further names to be added. Knowing that as long as old men ie politicians, send young men and women to die then this is unfortunately realistic,

Leave a Reply

