Will he hurt us?

In need of a happiness boost? Is life’s hourglass aggravating you? Don’t call computer/life support – they’ll only tell you to switch it off and on again. Three happy things await below the hourglass. As usual the joke is at the bottom…


The hourglass above comes from Curiosity Killed The Girl. And here comes the happy talk.

Ebony Bones

1. Ebony Bones – as seen at XOXO, TARA. I feel like I must be the last person to hear of her. But in case I’m wrong and it’s you – that’s her on the left. And here’s some music…

Ebony Bones W.A.R.R.I.O.R.

and a wee video too. (There’s more info on Her Bonesness here and at her official page here.)

Salif Keita

2. Salif Keïta – aka The Golden Voice of Africa. This descendant of the founder of the old Empire of Mali was ostracised because of his albinism. That is – he’s Black, but his skin is white. He’s recorded a song about it. (A video of it is below.) He has a lovely gentle voice. His guitar produces rai tones.

I came across his music here at Smile In Your Face.

3. Actually it’s not a joke. It’s a true story. Something I overheard in church.

The preacher was wired for sound with a lapel mike. As he preached, he moved briskly about the platform, jerking the mike cord as he went.

Then he moved to one side, getting wound up in the cord and nearly tripping before jerking it again.

After several circles and jerks, a little girl in the nearby pew leaned toward her mother and whispered, “If he gets loose, will he hurt us?”

(OK, the bit about it being a true story may not be absolutely true.  I nicked the anecdote from Fishmox.) I’m feeling mellower already. Must be the music.

6 Comments

Filed under life, Music

6 responses to “Will he hurt us?

  1. Thank you so much for the link 🙂 Ebony Bones is a fantastic artist, so I’m glad more people are finding out about her. You have a wonderful blog, by the way.

  2. this post in its entirity is AWESOME.

  3. Haha still waiting for my new life to load . . eejit that I am . . .have to fly to my job related task!

  4. I like Salif Keita. It sounds like is music is really deep and heartfelt.

    And Ebony bones was cool too. : ).

  5. Reasons To Be Cheerful Part 3!
    Have A Splendid Weekend & I hope all your preachers are on a short-leash!

  6. Nice music and great joke! Thanks for visiting me and taking the time to comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

