Back to work

This being back in full time work lark is a bit intrusive. Early starts, crowded commutes, missing the school drop off and pick up, drinking curtailed, less time to write breathless prose like this.

But it’s structure – which is important, so I’m told. And they’ll pay me. Sometime soon. And if it ever feels a little like this…

At least it’ll never anywhere near as bad as this…

First, I wrap my arm in a skin for protection

Then I crawl in the pit.

Let’s light the place up a bit.

There she is

Those are her eggs.

I let her take my protected arm, sort of like noodling for fish.

Then my buddy pulls me out with snake attached.

Ain’t she a beaut?

Whoa,  that’s a biggie.

(Thanks to Colt Monday and yougottobekidding, from where I nicked these – though goodness knows the original source.)

14 Comments

Filed under life

14 responses to “Back to work

  1. TaylorGooderham

    Okay, that takes the record for crappy job (as far as I’ve seen). What’s your job?

  2. My own mind-numbing, soul-crushing, life-force sucking job suddenly doesn’t look nearly so bad. Thanks, Paul!

  3. I’ve had some pretty crappy jobs in my day but I gotta tell ya … this one is the pits.

  4. Oh my . . yep, makes working with a bunch of accountants the safest job in the world. Some of the clients are vipers mind you! And yeh, I guess full time employment gives you a reason to get out of bed in the morning. Frankly, I prefer a lie in. . .bring on retirement *laughs hysterically at the prospect of being able to afford to retire*

  5. At least there is only one snake in the pit. Try telling ghost stories to 8th graders for a living.

    • blackwatertown

      Thanks. I feel much luckier now.
      I got to smash in the front door of the office this week (keys had been lost). Deadlines were looming, but mainly, it was fun.
      Taylor Gooderham – I produce a TV show.

  6. Hi there…finally found my way back here…you were the first one to visit my W/P site after I was catapulted into it from Spaces Live recently! Have been busy “decorating” the place and collecting up spaces friends but now I have had 5 mins to return and check you out properly 🙂 I will never again complain about my job after reading this btw!!! I could never do that snake thing! Not ever!!! You have good posts here. I will be back 🙂 Stop by anytime…you are very welcome…

  7. I’m curious to know about the new jobbie-job, too. You’d better fess up. Some days I feel like I’m wrastling with snakes, especially when dealing with all this plagiarism that has been rampant this semester.

    • I’ve been toying with the idea of blogging about it – especially since going out drinking with my new colleagues the other night. (I discovered to my relief that they do in fact drink and swear – a lot – though usually in connection with a particular individual.)

      I said something about it in reply to Taylor above, but I might wait a wee bit longer to elaborate on that.

  8. Mabruuk, BWT!!! Well, not the boring bits of the new job, but after those images, I will be breathlessly happy to face the room of 12 year boys I teach Sunday School for. Thanks for the reality check.

    Well, producing a TV show. Published author. Quick send me a scanned autograph so I can say I knew you while just an impoverished writer. Maybe you’ve never been that 🙂

    good news..it’s Friday 🙂

  9. Katty Stone

    Interesting read. Thanx. Looking forward to reading more soon.
    Pretty good design too, but have you considered changing it from time to time?
    Katty

Leave a Reply

