School Portrait

I asked my daughter to supply to words to this one . And top girl said: “Hey Hoberman. Hey Dapper Dan. You’ve both got your style, but brother you’re never fully dressed without a smile. Who cares what they’re wearing on Main Street or Saville Row. It’s what they wear from ear to ear and not from head to toe… that ma-ah-ters.”

Hmm – I’ve a feeling she did not just think that up on the spur of the moment. But it seems to fit this short video – which I dedicate to anyone having one of those days.

25 Comments

Filed under life

25 responses to “School Portrait

  1. This was fabulous; loved the boy who answered, “Didn’t want to,” when asked why he didn’t file taxes.

    The smiling girl reminds me of my granddaughter.

  2. Smiling is contagious and helps brighten up many a dull day!

  3. I love people like that who just refuse to be daunted by anything and keep smiling whatever. Okay, they might suddenly be crushed to death by a falling tree but hey, what a gas their life was….

    • blackwatertown

      How does that saying go?
      If you can keep your head when all around you are losing theirs… You clearly have no idea what’s going on at all.

  4. This is brilliant 🙂
    It may also explain the odd expressions on the school photos we got home today …

  5. Too funny!! And your top girl’s quote is of course from Annie and I’ll bet the little curly redheaded cutie prompted that!!

  6. I loved the clip! I especially enjoyed at the end, when the little girl had “worn him down” with her smiles, and he said, “Well, I guess I can always get a new home. Hey, iis your mom single?” I cracked up!

  7. e

    She’s adorable…

    This is a great blog you’ve got here, Paul. It’s nice to “meet” you…As a famous general once said,” I shall return.” Best of luck with your book and thanks for your comments at my blog.

  8. Good video, short, heart-warming but not lavishly so, and stops when it should stop. So few do.

  9. This is a change! For our school and college photographs, we were always told to smile! Or, say cheese!

  10. I bet someone once told the little one what a beautiful smile she had! Compliments like that stay with you forever…. 🙂

  11. gives new meaning to indefatigable.

    • blackwatertown

      Sorry – that word “indefatigable” – always makes me think of Saddam Hussein – George Galloway and his: “I salute your indefatigability.”

  12. Charming and adorable video, especially the smiler.

Leave a Reply

