Does this make me a snob?

I often pass this sign, but I never go inside. Does that make me a snob?

I’m aware of the value of sometimes tweaking the rules. That a market stall sign declaring Fresh Melon’s may attract attention and business, precisely because of its grammatical inaccuracy.

I’ve occasionally employed the deliberate mistake tactic myself. When a radio phone-in is slow to attract calls, letting a listener email or text message with a glaring error slip through on air usually opens the floodgates and it’s plain sailing from then on. (Just time for a quick chin scratch. Should I be telling you that? Probably not. Too late. Never mind.)

But despite all that. Despite the possibility that something delicious might lie behind the steamed up windows of the establishment to which that sign belongs. Despite my usual and natural tendency to poke my nose into any random curiosity. Despite all that – I can’t bring myself to buy my daley bread from that deli.

Does that make me a snob?

NB – UPDATEYou really must read the the follow-up to this story here – but don’t click on the link until after you’ve looked at the comments below. That way you’ll appreciate the follow-up all the more. Dammit.

49 Comments

Filed under language

49 responses to “Does this make me a snob?

  1. Whenever I see sign’s like that, they stop me in my tracks. I know something isn’t quite right about them, but I can’t move along any further until I know how it should look. And I really shouldn’t have added that extra apostrophe! 😀

  2. No.

    It just means that Daley is a crap baker.

    .

  3. 29

    Please go easy on poor old Arthur, he has given up selling dodgy cars and started a bakery. Everyone deserves a second chance.

  4. You will definitely enjoy: Eats, Shoots & Leaves by Lynn Truss

  5. And, they’re all over the place here too.
    This from way back:
    http://photopol.com/signs/foleys.html

    .

  6. No, it doesn’t make you a snob. What it makes you (possibly) is missing out on a fantastic piece of bread, the pork and apple sauce. That baker of daley bread needs a proof reader, friends, not a smart arse like you. Does he expect you to bake bread, does he read your prose and sneer? Who knows.

    Paul, you have unleashed the beast in me. Lynn Truss has nothing on me. I was once married to a man who joined Keith Waterhouse in a fight most worthy.

    Look no further than Tesco. With little one in tow – and to both set an example and satisfy my dissatisfaction – I pointed out the difference between “less” than 10 items and “fewer” than 10 items. This fell on the store manager’s stony ground. As they say: Every little helps.

    U

  7. I kindly tell them in a gentle voice; it’s like spinach on your teeth thing; wouldn’t you want to know?

    • I suppose I might discover whether or not it’s deliberate. Then again, I might also discover the boot of the proprietor up my backside as I exit faster than I entered.
      Something for me to consider anyway.

  8. Maybe, just maybe, the bread is baked by a Mr. or Mrs. Daley and it’s their play on words 🙂

  9. Well for goodness sakes, please report back once you know.

  10. What matters more to me is if they can bake…though, there are some misspelled signage that can keep me from entering, such as this one:
    Watch out, hard hats!

    • So does that mean wear them or discard them?
      Will I be teased if I wear one?

      • lol, Just means…I REALLY expect them necessary to enter…
        “Really” appreciate if you would drop by and hit “Like” on my “Weekly Photo Image” entry…you don’t “REALLY” have to like it…just trying to get 100 likes before I move on to something else, and things seemed to have stopped at 85…
        Appreciate it…

  11. Andy

    This missplleing is a great bit of advretising, its got all of you talking and would it catch your eye if it was correctly seplt.

  12. It doesn’t make you a snob, Paul … just a cautious individual. If it were me though, I would be in there tryin’ out the bread, would have to know.

    Blessings – Maxi

  13. No, it makes you discerning…

  14. Okay, let’s be frank and say Yes! Why forgo the chance of the best bread you’ve ever tasted just because someone went to a crap school and can’t spell properly! Shaim on you!

  15. TJ

    Good to know I’m not the only one who feels this way.

  16. Then again, Paul, even if it weren’t a clever advert. play on words/names to attract customers, not so many moons ago, in France, the average age for an apprentice Chef to start working the kitchens was around 12 years old…we can’t expect them to cook AND spell can we? No wait…French Chef…Not a good example…anyway.,. was a thought…

    • blackwatertown

      12? Blimey. And that’s an average – so loads are even younger. Soudns like Children of the Corn – except in a kitchen – cleavers at the ready.

  17. Nigel

    He’s short daily of business, and so kneads the dough.

Leave a Reply

