Happy St Patrick’s Day you mutha…

Not at all like my own Mum. There'd be a tea cosy on that pot for a start. Sunglasses in the house? No way. That colour hair? No. And more importantly, she has no need to pretend on either of the two days in question. OK, end of excessive schmaltziness.

If only all festivals could be this cooperative.

St Patrick’s Day only starts after midday in my English village – in the pub whose owner is married to a Mayo woman, which is run by a Leitrim man and which is frequented by the denizens of Clare, Tipperary and Antrim. Some British people manage to squeeze in too.

The delay is to accommodate Mothers’ Day in the morning. (American mothers are even more accommodating, they mark it on another day altogether.)

So if you’re an Irish mother, you’re welcome all day. On the downside, you may have to put up with plastic Shamrock-tinted tat.

I may drop in myself – just out of politeness… to Mothers.

But beforehand, as is traditional, I’ll link to my all -time favourite St Patrick’s Day joke.

And leave you with this I Spartacus-type short Patrick-themed film.

Well, I didn’t say it was Saint Patrick-themed, now did I? Anyway – Happy St Patrick’s day to you. May your head hit the pillow gently and rise from it untroubled in the morning.

19 Comments

Filed under In the village

19 responses to “Happy St Patrick’s Day you mutha…

  1. Love your joke. Subtle or not so subtle depending on how much thought you give it. A dynamically layered joke. 🙂

    Here’s a Paddy joke for real:
    http://photopol.blogspot.com/2010/03/its-ok-to-shoot-leprechauns.html

    And nowadays you don’t even have to exercise your mind to come up with them in real life.

    Remember Obama’s recent four leaf clover. Well now, who do you think he had in mind for the fourth member of the Blessed Trinity?

    Have a nice Paddy’s Day you too, Mutha.

    And as you say. Not forgetting the Day for All Muthas tomorrow.

    Beir bua agus beannacht, and watch for that rising road.

    .

  2. PS: Love the green doughnuts. Must have been done in green cooking oil. Now there’s a real challenge.

    Reminds me of the time I cooked a sponge in a house I was staying in in Jersey, CI. I put green colouring in the sponge but it came out of the over looking perfectly normal until you cut it. Nobody would eat it and I scoffed the lot myself. Same thing for the fairly cakes but with the addition of grey coloured icing. People wouldn’t touch them. And they were lovely. Scoffed them too.

    No wonder they dye tinned peas green, and not just for Paddy’s Day..

    .

    • blackwatertown

      I had something like that with an alocholic mixture once – it was easy to see which green-tongued people had sampled it.

  3. Happy St Patrick’s Day, Paul! Love the cartoons – this one and the one from 2 years ago!

  4. rummuser

    Happy St Patrick’s Day WWW. I wish that I was Irish! You guys seem to have a lot more fun and games than we do!

  5. Hi BWT!!! Sorry I’ve been such a bad blogger. Had to come by to wish my favorite on-line Irishman a blessed Saint Patrick’s Day! We saved the red M&Ms from leftover Christmas candy for Valentine’s Day, now we get to use the saved green ones! (the rest will got for Easter…M&M’s are an expat obsession) May God richly bless your family with faith like a the blessed brother

    • blackwatertown

      Obsession is right – you sound like Spinal Tap on tour checking the M&M jar to make sure the promoter is getting the details spot on.
      But – lovely to hear from you.

  6. Happy St. Patrick’s Day, Paul. May 2012 be the best for you and your family. Blessings – Maxi

  7. ahhhh, may the wind come over the Pond, be at your back, your toes pointy and forward, your head set rightly on your shoulder, and a bright shinyy corn beef package be in ye path!

    • blackwatertown

      OK – so what you’re really saying is this: Please trip over a discarded tin of corned beef. Is that it? Huh? Huh?

  8. I liked your “schmaltziness” — you’re obviously a good son 🙂

  9. blackwatertown

    Hmmph! Well… the rugby didn’t go the way I was hoping. I see you when I emerge from my huff.

  10. Well I’m a bit jealous (or would be) because everywhere you turn in London today, there are people celebrating St Patrick’s Day, yet trying to find anywhere lively for my own Saint David’s Day celebrations on March 1st was a total disaster (not catastrophe, as previously discussed). Mind you, I think that Wales own Archbishop Rowan has pulled a fast one (and why shouldn’t he occasionally use that extra influence for personal use, after all, he’s had a pretty rough ride here over the last ten years). With help from Lambeth Palace Chapel, we achieved a magnificent win over France today, hence beating England to the six nations crown ( I won’t mention how many times in the last eight years as a mark of respect to Blackwatertown’s origins). So some sympathy Paul, and really sorry about your rugby result. Yachi da!

  11. Hmmm, I think the Crabby Road joke is better than your all-time favourite. Anyway, a happy St Patrick’s Day to you. May your liver withstand the habitual onslaught.

    • blackwatertown

      My liver came through pretty much unscathed.
      I don’t know what’s got into me – commonsense maybe?
      (Thinks.)
      Nah, can’t be that.

Leave a Reply

