Trust

The internet is a terrible place… scary… red in tooth and claw and packed to the gills with trolls, scammers, spammers, backbiters, fakers and bigots of many persuasions.

Or so I was warned.

And no doubt they’re out there.  But so far I’ve been lucky in those I’ve encountered – the other members of the Loose Bloggers Consortium being a case in point. (The rest of them are also writing about trust today – links to their blogs are further down the right hand column.)

So, in the light of the naiviety, gullibility, trust that has grown up between me and other people who exist on the internet, I’ve gradually revealed and had revealed to me (ahem, no, not like that – we’re not talking webcams here) details about our personal lives.

And taking a step further, I’ve trusted and some of them have trusted, to actually meet offline in meatspace, (like Padmini for instance).

Which is what I want to do again, this month, in Belfast.

If any of you – and yes I am thinking of you in particular GM – fancies meeting on the evening of Sunday 15th April at Arthur Magee’s Walk Round Belfast For People Too Lazy To Walk, then he and I will see you upstairs in the Garrick bar (haunt of Thackery & thespians since 1870) on Chichester Street  near the front of the City Hall. There’ll be talking, some songs I think and he’ll show some slides. Hey – all the ingredients needed for an epic evening. Drinks will be available too.

I’ve mentioned Arthur Magee’s alternative view of Belfast before here. I spoke to him the other day and he’s looking forward to seeing us. Well I’ll be there anyway.

It costs a bit – £7 I think – but we may get a discount because I’ve been saying nice things about him.

What do you think? Any Belfast or not-to-far-away based people reckon they might join us?

I’ll email you my mobile if you think you’ll make it. And, of course, I’ll buy you a drink. I trust I’ll see you there.

23 Comments

Filed under D - Loose Bloggers Consortium

23 responses to “Trust

  1. Trust me, I’ll be first in the Queue!

  2. PS I dare you wear the horse’s head!

    • blackwatertown

      Weeeell, I suppose I could sneak back into the BBC’s mystical props cupboard. I’d also have to swap my passport photo too though.

  3. Nigel

    He may bridle at this, but not furlong. Sorry, I must rein these in.

  4. That sounds nice, but I think the plane ticket might be cost prohibitive for me 🙂 I too have been lucky enough to meet some really great people on the internet from different sites. It can be a scary world we live in, but it can be just as wonderful.

  5. If I were on the other side of the pond, I’d be there in a heartbeat. Slàinte mhòr agad!

  6. BWT- a walk without walking!! Of course I’ll be there 🙂

  7. In my 20 month old blog I have met only decent and delightful people. And the talent in so many different areas is astonishing. Breeds a little faith in humanity again.

    • blackwatertown

      Only 20 months? It seems as though you have always been there. I’ve got a bit behind in commenting, but I’m following you through the email updates.
      I agree with you about the talent and decency.

  8. So wish I could be there, HH, to join in the fun. Like you, I have met only the best online. Blessings – Maxi

  9. rummuser

    I trust you. Just come over to Pune to see how much. You can trust me too. Just come over to see how much!

  10. I’ve only met the best in Blogland too BWT – I would love to be in Belfast then but it’s a bit too early for me. I’ll be in the South in August-September with my play, maybe then, who knows??
    XO
    WWW

  11. Sounds like a wonderful idea…but it might take a little while too long to commute all the way from Europa to Earth 😉 Especially when one not only has to travel several thousand km or so across space, but one also has to negotiate the big bad asteroid belt 🙂

  12. Wish I could. I have not been to Belfast!

  13. Raging I can’t do it- sounds like a great night! I will hopefully also be enjoying a musical evening with Van Morrison in the Culloden hotel-very excited and even more so about the lie in I plan to relish the next morning. Enjoy yourself though- I know you will!

  14. Thanx for coming last night, it was great to meet you and great to know that there are positive, proactive people out on t’interweb!

Leave a Reply

