Ringo redeemed

"It's just you and me babe. Against the world." "I love you Ringo." "I love you too Ringo."

Sorry Ringo, I owe you an apology.

A few weeks ago Ringo Starr was the object of ridicule for failing to hoik one of the Vernon Girls onto his knee. The evidence is here.

All the other Beatles were beautifully laden. Ringo was the odd one out. Poor Ringo we purred, like mean Heathers.

But now the redoubtable Nigel has returned. Having slain grammatical heresy, he’ s now championing the man who was described as “not even the best drummer in the Beatles.”

Oi! Before you get too hoity toity standing up for Ringo everyone, don’t forget he was responsible for this – I’m not hosting the video here, it’s so dire – you’ll have to click on the link to see it.

But regardless of his stick and snow action, there’s nothing wrong with Ringo’s pulling power – as this newly discovered picture supplied by Nigel reveals.

Ringo gets his girl. Meanwhile what's Paul up to at the other end. Air drumming?

But what about the knight errant Nigel Morgan himself?

Nigel Morgan - the sixth Beatle.

One thing’s for sure, if he’d been around, none of the Beatles would have had a chance with the Vernons Girls.

16 Comments

Filed under friends, Music

16 responses to “Ringo redeemed

  1. I’m completely swept away by those magnificent green bowties and Paul’s wankerdom.
    XO
    WWW

  2. Nigel

    I am wholly complimented, good sir! However, I am more likely to be the fifth or sixth Cricket, as my knowledge of Buddy Holly was apparently such that I was known as Buddy at school in that early/mid sixties era. Any contact I had with such British groups as the Beatles was the other one. They really were a rock ‘n roll group.

    • blackwatertown

      Hey Bud – I’m disappointed that no one asked the obvious question. (Then again, the readers here are clearly a cut above going for the obvious option.)

  3. zimnoch

    How do you tell if the stage is level?
    The drummer is drooling from both sides of his mouth.

    • blackwatertown

      Ooh cruel. There’s a drummer in my house, but he also plays the guitar – so I guess that’s alright.

  4. Paul is definitely the odd man out here. Air drumming (as you suggested), or pitching a fit because he wasn’t provided with a lovely set of shoulders to rest his hands on…

    • blackwatertown

      I’ve just had another look at the photo. I think he’s muttering “Why I outta…” and winding himself up to clout John.

  5. Nigel

    There were only three Vernons Girls, so one of the lads had to lose out. I’ll try better next time! Come to think of it, there are only two Beatles now….

  6. It’s hard to respond, laughin’ so hard at Ringo in the mirror. You made my day with this one, HH. Blessings – Maxi

  7. I saw Ringo on TV a few months ago, muttering “Love and peace” in a distinctly half-hearted fashion as if he couldn’t care less about the fans anymore and just wanted to be left alone. If so, I entirely sympathise. Years and years of screaming hysterical fans must have driven him crazy.

  8. rummuser

    The whole was and is greater than the sum of its parts.

    I crossed 64 some years ago.

    I rest my case.

  9. I have on good authority (specifically his) that my father was the sixth Beatle. He also claims to have been the eighth doctor and the second shooter, though he told me to keep that last one under my hat.

  10. Nigel

    Bart Simpson had to write out lines as a punishment on the blackboard saying “I am not the sixth Beatle”, an indignity I am yet to experience. So, maybe it is true.

  11. andrew godfrey

    Nigel was just trying to get up and personal with Barbara Bach. and who can blame him.

Leave a Reply

