Secrets

Don’t click on this because it’ll reveal where we’re going.

Will Knott wants to know my secrets. Nosy, isn’t he?

But given that a secret is – Something you only tell one person… at a time.

I suppose I can reveal this secret just to you.

Tomorrow I’m off to a place where Google Streetview does not function. It’s a place where, to paraphrase U2, the streets have no surface at all. In fact you’d need to be Jesus to cross to the shop opposite. Jaywalking is not banned – just laughed at.

You can slip your suggestions into this cute letterbox. Looks like C3PO’s postal cousin. But don’t click on the picture!

Shhh! Don’t say it.

Don’t mention that the taxi drivers sing and steal your cornetto. Or that everyone gets a certain sinking feeling at the same time.

Shhh! Keep it to yourself.

I think it was the first place ever to have a tourist guidebook written about it – though it concentrated on the fleshpottery on offer to the exclusion of all else.

But St Mark my words, that’s not what I’m after. So I need your help.

Suggestions please for where to go or eat or see at this secret destination – especially with a ten-year-old Top Girl.

See you next week. (And, obviously, don’t click on this photo.)

We’re going tomorrow – Saturday  – so you’ll have to be quick. Otherwise I can read your comments when we return and discover what we should have done.

Thank you in advance. (Or with hindsight.)

And in the meantime, you can float over to the other members of the Loose Bloggers Consortium to discover their secrets by scrolling down the right hand side of the screen and clicking on their links.

22 Comments

Filed under D - Loose Bloggers Consortium

22 responses to “Secrets

  1. Hudson Howl

    Am really not that clever to figure out clues. Addio avere un viaggio sicuro.

    • blackwatertown

      Oh no – you’ve set me some sort of cypher – all the letters mixed up – have to be rearranged to make actual words. Cripes!

  2. Oh fabulous! Enjoy yourselves- sorry I’ve no suggestions-only there the once and it was almost 20 years ago….I’d ask the oracle who is Trip Advisor if I were you. Ciaoxxxx

  3. Do have a Bellini in the Danieli. Have lunch at Locanda Cipriani on Torcello. On your way back stop at two other islands, that of Murano and Burano. I know both are ‘tourist’ destinations. But then, by visiting, you do qualify as a tourist, don’t you?

    And try not to get lost in one of the narrow back streets of Venice. Otherwise you may (as did I) have a “Don’t look now” moment.

    Ciao,
    U

  4. Watch out for those guys with the oars, they can drench you in a flash! Go have a ball and come back and tell us all about it.

    I wonder if these will be of any help?

    • blackwatertown

      The place used to be well known for its ‘ores. Oh, sorry, oars. I geddit. Thanks for the guide link – I learnt something new I’ll repeat on location to appear erudite.

  5. Looks like my last comment went to the sin bin. Whaaaa!

  6. I love life lived as a healthy adventure! Bravo!

  7. Any comments I have to make are being kept secret…
    Blessings ~ Maxi

  8. Well – since you’re not cominmg to DFW BBQ is out. Dunno Paul – I’m definitely not an expert on the subject.

  9. Well, I was going to suggest the Guggenheim Museum but I’m obviously too late. Also a stroll round Cannaregio which is the least touristy and most genuine part of Venice.

  10. Val

    Sadly St Mark is very square…

  11. Love the post will be back again to visit and tell friends about excellent site and original posts.

Leave a Reply

